Gifts of the Holy Spirit

Get Free Email Updates!

Signup now and receive an email once I publish new content.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )

I will never give away, trade or sell your email address. You can unsubscribe at any time.

The seven gifts of the Holy Spirit are described in the Book of Isaiah. Considered to be ones that the Messiah would possess, these gifts are elaborated by five intellectual virtues and four ethical characteristics. Here is a detailed look at the gifts of the Holy Spirit.

1. Wisdom

Wisdom is a gift that God grants to all who ask in faith and sustains Christians in times of trials and tribulations. Helping us to deal with adversity with calmness and hope, wisdom allows us to recognize the importance of others while keeping God central in our lives.

2. Understanding

When you surrender to the Spirit of God, you can see the meaning of God’s message. Understanding of the scripture is an integral part of comprehending the truth. What was once incomprehensible will later become self evident.

”But a shoot shall sprout from the stump of Jesse, and from his roots a bud shall blossom. The spirit of the LORD shall rest upon him: a spirit of wisdom and of understanding, a spirit of counsel and of strength, a spirit of knowledge and of fear of the LORD, and his delight shall be the fear of the LORD. Not by appearance shall he judge, nor by hearsay shall he decide.” – Isaiah 11:1-3

3. Knowledge

The gift of knowledge allows you to know things you wouldn’t. Thinking about and exploring God’s revelation opens up new doors for you to recognize there are mysteries of faith beyond us.

4. Counsel

The gift of counsel is also called the gift of right judgement. It is the ability to see the best way to follow God’s plan when we have choices to consider that relate to him. Seeking God’s wisdom and taking God’s direction will help yourself the question if your decision will lead you closer to God or further away.

”But if any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God who give to all generously and ungrudgingly, and he will be given it.” – James 1:5

5. Fortitude

This gift of the Holy Spirit means you will have the courage to do what one knows is right no matter the consequences. Today, the faithful may be regarded as fanatics or ridiculed, but standing up to Christ takes courage as you stand for truth with love.

6. Piety

There is nothing more pure than going before God with humility. Piety helps us pray to God in true devotion. No longer do you live life through your own power, but by the power of God.

”Turning your ear to wisdom, inclining your heart to understanding; Yes, if you call for intelligence, and to understanding raise your voice; if you seek her like silver, and like hidden treasures search her out, then you will understand the fear of the LORD; the knowledge of God you will find; for the LORD gives wisdom, from his mouth come knowledge and understanding.” – Proverbs 2:2-6

7. Fear of the Lord

This gift does not translate to being fearful of the Lord. It s awe of the God of the universe. We who submissively come to the Lord will receive His gifts. Fear of the Lord is the feeling of amazement before God. He wants and He gives us His gifts of the Holy Spirit.

9 Fruits of the Holy Spirit

1. Love
2. Joy
3. Peace
4. Patience
5. Kindness
6. Generosity
7. Faithfulness
8. Gentleness
9. Self-Control